The Buried Goddess Saga

Have you ever wondered what the lovechild of the Princess Bride and The Lord of the Rings might look like? I haven’t, but I think I found out anyway.

Written by Rhett C. Bruno and Jaime Castle, The Buried Goddess Saga (a title which has only one “R” despite the insistence of my fingers) begins with a loud mouth Dwarf challenging the self proclaimed World’s Greatest Thief, Whitney Firestone, to an impossible task. This not so simple challenge triggers a series of events that leads Whitney into a position to assist Torsten, the former Commander of the King’s Army, on a mission to save the life of the Cursed Prince.

From there, the anti is upped as war breaks out, assassins do assassiny things, people die, people un-die, and while all these perfectly normal things are happening, the Gods and Goddesses of old are stirring and are none too happy.

From stealing a crown, to escaping some mystics, to defeating a wizard, to saving the world from utter annihilation, the journey is wrought with betrayals, surprises, wit, humor, touching moments… and Torsten’s inability to control himself.

The first book switches from following Whitney, The Thief, and Torsten, The Knight, to tell the story of their meeting, and their adventure together. As the series progresses, we get to see the world from over the shoulder of other characters, including The Mystic, The Immortal, The Rebel, The Traitor, and a few other important characters.

Putting the story aside, one of the absolute best parts of this saga is the characters! Whitney alone is enough to fall in love with this series, with his wit, humor, and bravado. He is a braggart with enough skill to actually back up most of his claims.

Luke Daniels narrates the audio-book and he does the character absolute justice. The tone and accent make the character infinitely better.

I would highly recommend this series to anyone who is a fan of Fantasy, Dungeons and Dragons, or Luke Daniels.


Author: Rhett C. Bruno and Jaime Castle

Narrator: Luke Daniels

Genre: Fantasy

Length: 6 Books



Author: CJ Stark

Leave a Reply